VeganTimes' Blog

My Journal…. as I switch to to a vegan diet.

Health, boy do I take it for granted…. most of the time!

Today, I woke up and felt REALLY good.  It is the eleventh day after my gallbladder surgery and I am free of pain and pain medicine.  Wonderful!  I have been taking it easy in the eating department.  I continue to eat my five grain cereal for breakfast with oat bran, raisins, and almond milk.  It is great.  Today I tried a new drink for lunch.  I was looking for a Green Superfood powder and ordered one from Amazon.  It was Greens Today Organic Frog Vegan Formula.  The product description on Amazon is:

“Greens Today® Vegan Formula is an Unsurpassed, Advanced Phyto-Nutrient Rich Superfood which contains 72 uniquely combined nutraceutical ingredients. Greens Today® Vegan Formula includes: Powerful Antioxidants, Digestive Enzymes, Plant Fibers, Probiotics, FOS, Essential Amino Acids, Standardized Herbal Extracts, Plant Sterols, Nucleic Acids, Nutrient Co-Factors, Cell Pigments, Essential Fatty Acids (Omega 3 & 6), naturally occurring Whole Food Source Vitamins & Macro and Trace Minerals that work synergistically to provide optimally balanced nutritional support from enzymatically active and alive foods instead of synthetically made vitamin pills. Greens Today® Vegan Formula is designed specifically to help support those who want a Health Promoting, Energizing, Cleansing, Immune Enhancing, Alkaline Promoting, Complete Vegan Nutritional Supplement. Greens Today® Vegan Formula provides these powerful bioactive Phyto-Nutrients: Lycopene, Zeaxanthin, Cryptoxanphin, Lutein, Sulforaphane, Ellagic Acid, Carotenoids, Isothiocyanates, and Indole 3 Carbinols.”

It tasted “green” but was not as sweet as the Vega drink that I had been using all week.  Vega Berry has Stevia, which I like.  However, this new drink is less sweet.  I mixed it with a banana, and about 10 to 12 ounces of Almond Milk then put it in the blender.  It was very good and filling.

I believe that the reason I feel so good and that my stomach is reacting so well to eating, is because I am eating vegan and am careful to avoid most oil.

Boy, it feels great to feel like myself again.

April 24, 2010 - Posted by | Gallbladder Surgery, Vegan Living | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a comment